Le commissaire au lobbyisme du Québec veille au respect de la Loi sur la transparence et l'éthique en matière de lobbyisme et au Code de déontologie des lobbyistes.

Types of public office holders

Who are public office holders?

“Public office holder” refers to any person working in the public sector, whether in parliamentary, government or municipal institutions. An elected official or person appointed to work in the public administration can be a public office holder.

Here are the public office holders as defined by the Act:

At the parliamentary level:
Members of the National Assembly and their staff

At the government level:
Ministers, deputy ministers, Cabinet staff and employees of the government or of government organizations

At the municipal level:
Mayors, wardens, municipal or borough councillors, chairs and other members of a metropolitan community, Cabinet staff and employees of municipalities and of municipal organizations


Therefore, the Act applies not only to lobbying activities with the 125 members of the National Assembly and their staff, but also to lobbying activities with the public office holders working in some 300 Québec government departments and organizations, and in more than 2,200 municipalities and municipal and supramunicipal organizations.